Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.1
Comfort
8.5
Property location
8.3
Facilities
7.9
Staff
9.6
Value
8.8

Reviews

    Anca
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    23 May 2018

    Relaxing place in the middle of the nature

    We really loved being in Nikko. The ryokan was really great, in the middle of the nature. The area was very quiet and we managed to relax a lot. Our room was amazing with a nice veranda to enjoy the afternoons. It was quite rainy and a bit cold when we arrived in Nikko and the host was so nice to warm up our room so when we entered it we felt perfect from the first second. The onsen is really big, you can almost swim in it so my partner and I took advantage of it after some hiking days. Within a walking distance there is a bus station and several restaurants, so the location is very good. Our host was very kind and gave us a lift to the train station when we left. I really recommend this ryokan if you are visiting Nikko.
    Layal Madari
    jo

    Review score

    10
    6 May 2018
    The staff'sswift response to the requests and Hospitality
    Katerina
    cz

    Review score

    8.3
    25 April 2018
    Bathroom need to be better air condition
    Garden, location, pick up service from to railway station
    George Sim
    ca

    Review score

    10
    19 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Christian
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    12 April 2018

    Traditional stay in Ryokan ver close to shrines.

    Room was cold on arrival, heating didnt work. Got a fuel heater in stead to solve the problem. No seperate shower except for those in the onsen (not private).
    Taxi service was great, they brought us to restaurants an and the shrine and station and picked us up again. Very friendly and helpful personnel, helpful with medical issue. Typical Ryokan with a traditional vibe. Found my name printed on the forms, on the shoe rack and on the door of the room.
    Thomas Hiebler
    at

    Review score

    8.8
    12 April 2018

    Very welcoming staff

    Looks shabby partially, could use some repair here and there
    Friendly staff, helpful, free drinks in lobby and awesome shuttle service
    foxtime
    ru

    Review score

    7.9
    20 December 2017
    Rooms are a bit old.
    Good traditional experience. Very friendly staff and tasty breakfast.
    Konstantin
    ru

    Review score

    8.3
    4 December 2017

    Good and cheap traditional ryokan to stay in Nikko for a couple of days

    Wi-Fi connection was unstable. Onsen was very small and simple. I did not expect much from this onsen and the hotel is a good value for money overall, but if you want a real onsen experience you should go to a real onsen village.
    This ryokan offers free shuttle to go anywhere in Nikko at any time. It can take you to the train station or a restaraunt or places of interest and pick you up there when needed and bring back to the ryokan. We haven't used picking up from a restaraunt, but you should definitely use shuttle to the train station (it's 40 minutes walk otherwise). The breakfast was good. This ryokan is across the river from the main part of Nikko and is in the middle of the forest, so the scenery is really great. It is also close to the main temples & shrines area (but it's far from the station).
    P Roche
    ie

    Review score

    8.3
    12 November 2017

    Great staff

    It's a little old and dated, however it's clean and great value for money. Although it's a little old/dated, I would stay there again!
    The staff were very helpful and friendly. They picked us up and dropped us off, which we really appreciated. The onsen was nice to relax at. The Japanese breakfast was good, well worth the price.
    Richard
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    11 November 2017

    Really lovely place. Highly recommended

    Bathroom needed a bit of updating and strange to not have a shower other than onsen in the building...
    So quiet clean and comfortable. Amazing place to stay. The owner was so helpful and nice and the shuttle bus is exceptional. Stay here if in Nikko
    Bond. Vaga-Bond
    pl

    Review score

    8.8
    10 November 2017
    A bit far from the station, bu close to the temples. Great traditional style rooms, but beware: no showers; you need to go to the public bath next door - which is OK, after all, it is a ryokan ;-) Friendly staff. Good meals. Free shuttle.
    Fredrik
    se

    Review score

    8.8
    8 April 2017

    Nice stay

    Staff was fantastic. Stay overall was a positive surprise and even though the exterior was a little worn the inside was very accomodating.
    YYAA
    lb

    Review score

    9.2
    2 January 2017
    the onsen could have been better
    i really liked the bedroom japanese style ryokan
    nl

    Review score

    7.5
    8 April 2018
    Friendly staff, only little English, free shuttle from the station. Very old fashioned ryokan. No luxury, but definitely authentic atmosphere
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    2 March 2018
    A little out of the way if you don't have a car and the property is well used but clean.
    Service was excellent.
    Connie
    us

    Review score

    10
    28 January 2018

    A gorgeous Ryokan with amazing staff!

    No negatives, just positives!
    What an awesome experience! I loved this Ryokan. It was beautiful, the rooms were comfortable and spacious, the bath was relaxing and the surroundings were tranquil. But what made it exceptional was the staff. They were beyond kind to us! I never wanted to leave!!!
    Katarzyna Maria Dunin-Majewska
    nl

    Review score

    8.8
    22 November 2017
    Place needs some renewal and painting
    lovely time capsule.service at a very high level.
    Josephine
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    11 April 2017

    Great location, but not really worth the money.

    Very old facility and has not been remodeled. Very worn. Breakfast was huge, but not very appetizing. Onsen was a simple tiled pool. Functional but not beautiful.
    Excellent location and friendly staff.
    JC
    sg

    Review score

    6.2
    31 March 2017

    Friendly hostess but facilities due for upgrade

    Smoking rooms. Run down rooms and property.
    Very friendly hostess and good meals. Nice surrounding area around the property
    piriya
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    9 January 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews